Process

How to register for a course?

Choose a course or several courses, register by filling out an online form. As the number of “seats” on the course is limited, describe your aspirations in taking the course in as much details as possible. The decision on the outcome of your application is based primarily on the seriousness of your intentions to participate in the course.

Within 7 days from the date of submitting the form you will be notified about the status of your application.

If your application is approved, you will receive an email with a contract and the payment details (we use the payment system PayPal). You must submit the payment within 7 days of receiving the invitation to participate in the course. If payment is not made within the specified time, your place will be given to another applicant.

Applications will be considered on first-come, first-serve basis.

If for any reason you wish to discontinue your participation after the start of the course, we fully reimburse the amount paid within 7 calendar days from the start of the course, and 50% of the amount paid within 14 calendar days. After 14 days, no refund can be issued.

What does the course structure look like?

Our courses are built like regular university seminars. You can listen to the “lecture” (presented in written or video format), read texts or materials on the subject, located on the course’s page, participate in online discussion with the instructor and other participants of the course on the forums, or talk with the instructor live via a chat or a webinar.

We offer two formats of participation in the course. Within the “Taught” format you have access to the materials and lectures, and you can participate in forum discussions with other students. The “Research” format, in addition to all of the above, includes homework assignments (these vary for each course) and intructor’s feedback on your performance.

What is a “course”?

As a rule, each course consists of multiple components: lectures or short background pieces on the subject, reading materials, discussion forums and chats. Below you can see several screenshots of some of the course elements taken from our previous courses. Please note that these shots are used for illustration only. The course content may vary.
coursediscussion-soc102

Basic Academic Writing in English Course Home Page

coursemain-vis101

Visual Data for Social Scientists Course Home Page

coursemain-soc102

Sociology of the Internet Course Home Page

Coursenews-soc102

Sociology of the Internet Course News Page

coursediscussion-soc102

Sociology of the Internet Discussion Page

Do I need special language skills or particular course materials to take part in a course?

Our courses (i.e., lectures and discussions), unless otherwise specified, are conducted in Russian. Reading materials for most courses may be both in Russian and English. Some reading materials will be available online after registration. Others will have to be purchased separately. Our instructors are committed to minimizing the additional costs the students may encounter when it comes to obtaining required reading materials.

Will I get a certificate upon completion of the course?

Upon completion of a course, each student will receive a certificate stating the name of the course, the number of course hours, the name of the instructor and the dates of the course. To obtain the certificate (except where noted) students must complete at least 70% of course assignments. The certificate is sent in an electronic format. You can print it, put a link to it on your resume, or share it on your social media profile (e.g., LinkedIn).

Please note:
University Without Borders is an NOT an accredited educational institution. Unless specifically stated otherwise, University Without Borders is not formally associated with universities or organizations, where our instructors work. The courses offered are personal initiatives of the instructors.

Why aren’t your courses free?

Our courses are taught in real time, in small classes, where there is a constant interaction between the instructor and the students. Free courses offer but a recording of a lecture and do not provide a student with a chance to interact with instructor or get a personalized feedback on the student’s work.

Are you any different from Coursera?

Our courses are different from Coursera and other MOOCs (massive open online courses) in the same way as listening to a live music concert is different from listening to a record. Because our courses take place in real time, there is a chance for the so-called “teaching improvisation”. The instructor takes into account your level of training and is able to respond in real time to any issues that emerge in the course, and organize the course materials accordingly from week to week. Live interaction also contributes to the fact that you can always get an “extra” (idea, reference, line of thought) which is impossible with a course that is recorded in advance.

How much time should I allocate for a successful completion of a course?

The successful participation in the course involves intensive work. Our students spend an average of 8 to 10 hours a week on studying and participation in the course. We recommend that you plan your time in advance as your participation directly affects your personal success, as well as the success of the course.

I have a question for a course instructor. Can I contact him/her prior to the beginning of the course?

Yes. This can be done on a demo-course website or, if such does not exist, you may leave your questions on the forum under the appropriate topic.

Can I take part in the forum without joining one of the courses?

Absolutely! Our forums are designed for intellectual exchange, as well as for the exchange of useful information for researchers.

Как это работает

Как проходит процесс регистрации на курс?

Выберите курс или несколько курсов, зарегистрируйтесь. Прочитайте контракт, оплатите участие в курсе в случае, если курс платный. Необходимо оплатить участие в курсе в течение 7 дней с момента получения приглашения на курс. Если оплата не произведена в указанный срок, Ваше место теряется.

В случае, если по какой-либо причине Вы захотите прервать обучение после начала курса, мы обязуемся возместить полностью уплаченную сумму в течение 7 календарных дней с начала курса, 50% уплаченной суммы по прошествии 14 календарных дней, после этого срока возврат денег не производится.

Как выглядит структура курсов?

Наши курсы построены как обычные университетские семинары. Вы можете ознакомиться с «лекцией» (представленной в письменном или видео формате), прочитать тексты или материалы по теме, расположенные на сайте курса, участвовать в их онлайн обсуждении с преподавателем и другими участниками курса на форумах, поговорить с преподавателем в режиме вебинара или чата.

Как проходят ваши курсы?

Курс, как правило, состоит из нескольких компонентов: лекций или кратких описаний истории вопроса, текстов для чтения, форумов для обсуждения, чатов. Здесь мы прилагаем несколько скриншотов элементов курса, взятых из наших прошлых курсов. Обратите внимание, эти скриншоты используются только для иллюстрации. Содержание курса может меняться по необходимости.
Главная страница курса Введение в академическое письмо

Главная страница курса Введение в академическое письмо

Главная страница курса Анализ визуальных источников в социальных науках

Главная страница курса Анализ визуальных источников в социальных науках

Главная страница курса Социология интернета

Главная страница курса Социология интернета

Новости курса Социология интернета

Новости курса Социология интернета

Страница обсуждений в курсе Социология интернета

Страница обсуждений в курсе Социология интернета

Какие языковые навыки и учебные материалы мне понадобятся для участия в курсе?

Наши курсы (т.е. лекции и обсуждения) проводятся на русском языке. Литература курсов будет как на русском, так и на английском. Некоторые материалы будут предоставлены онлайн после регистрации. Некоторые необходимо будет приобрести отдельно. Наши преподаватели ориентируются на то, чтобы минимизировать дополнительные затраты студентов на требующуюся литературу.

Получу ли я сертификат после окончания курса?

По окончании курса выдается сертификат с указанием названия курса, количеством часов, именем преподавателя и датой проведения курса. Для получения сертификата (за исключением отдельно оговоренных случаев) необходимо выполнение не менее 70% заданий курса. Сертификат присылается в электронном виде. Его можно распечатать, поместить как ссылку в резюме или разместить в Вашем профиле в социальных медия (нпр., в LinkedIn).

Обратите внимание:

Университет без границ формально не является образовательным учреждением. За исключением специально оговоренных случаев, Университет без границ формально не связан с университетами или организациями, где работают наши преподаватели. Предлагаемые курсы являются личной инициативой преподавателей.

Почему ваши курсы платные?

Наши курсы проходят в реальном времени, в небольшой группе, где есть взаимодействие между преподавателем и студентами. Бесплатные курсы, которые представляют собой уроки в записи, такого не предлагают.

Чем вы отличаетесь от Корсеры?

Наши курсы отличаются от Корсеры и других MOOC (массовых бесплатных онлайн курсов) примерно также, как отличается прослушивание музыки live от музыки в записи. Поскольку курс проходит в реальном времени, в нем возможно то, что называется teaching improvisation (педагогическая импровизация). Преподаватель учитывает ваш уровень подготовки или возникающие вопросы при организации материалов на каждую неделю. Большинство наших курсов предполагают дискуссию и обсуждение, через видео-встречи или на форуме. Такое общение предоставляет студенту возможность напрямую проверить свое понимание вопроса, задать преподавателю любой вопрос, спросить совета по организации своего исследования или проекта.

Какое количество часов работы предполагает один курс?

Успешная работа на курсе предполагает интенсивное занятие. Наши студенты в среднем тратят 8-10 часов в неделю на подготовку и участие в курсе. Мы рекомендуем спланировать вашу работу заранее, поскольку ваше участие напрямую влияет на ваш личный успех, а также и на успех всего курса.

Если у меня есть вопросы для преподавателя, могу ли я их задать до курса?

Да. Это можно сделать на сайте соответствующего демокурса. Либо, если демокурс не создан, то вы это можете сделать оставив вопрос на форуме в соответствующей рубрике.